Rubber Division announces Science & Technology award winners

Akron, OH – Rubber Division, ACS annually honors the best of the best with the most prestigious awards in our industry – the Science & Technology Awards. The 2024 winners will accept these awards and be celebrated at a banquet hosted by Rubber Division, ACS and sponsored by Alpha Technologies on May 1, 2024 during the Rubber Division, ACS Spring Technical Meeting in Columbus, OH. Each Science & Technology Award Winner will also give a presentation in the technical session following the banquet.

Charles Goodyear Medal – Dr. Katrina Cornish
Dr. Katrina Cornish was named the 2024 Charles Goodyear Medalist. The most prestigious award given by Rubber Division, ACS is sponsored by HF MIXING GROUP and was established in 1941 to perpetuate the memory of Charles Goodyear as the discoverer of the vulcanization of rubber. It honors individuals for outstanding invention, innovation or development which has resulted in a significant change or contribution to the nature of the rubber industry.

Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award – Dr. Andrew Chapman
Dr. Andrew Chapman was selected for the 2024 Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award, sponsored by Lion Elastomers. This award perpetuates the memory of Melvin Mooney, the developer of the Mooney Viscometer and other testing equipment, and honors individuals who have exhibited exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to rubber science and technology.

George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research – Dr. Namita R. Choudhury
Dr. Namita R. Choudhury was named the winner of the 2024 George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research, sponsored by Cabot Corporation. This award honors teachers and academic scientists for distinguished, innovative and inspirational teaching and research in chemistry and polymer science. The award perpetuates the memory of George S. Whitby, head of the rubber laboratory at The University of Akron and for years the only one who taught rubber chemistry in the USA. It honors outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science and recognizes innovative research.

Sparks-Thomas Award – Dr. Radek Stocek
Dr. Radek Stocek was chosen for the 2024 Sparks-Thomas Award, sponsored by Endurica, LLC. This award perpetuates the memory of William J. Sparks and Robert M. Thomas, chemists who developed butyl rubber. It recognizes and encourages outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers who are within 25 years of earning their undergraduate degree.

Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award – Greg Patnode
Greg Patnode was selected for the 2024 Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award, sponsored by Renkert Oil, LLC. This award recognizes the contributions of scientists in the field of thermoplastic elastomers. Particular emphasis is placed on innovations that have yielded significant new commercial or patentable materials.

Fernley H. Banbury Award – Dr. Andreas Limper
Dr. Andreas Limper is the winner of the 2024 Fernley H. Banbury Award, sponsored by ACE Laboratories. It perpetuates the memory of Fernley H. Banbury, the inventor and developer of the internal mixer that bears his name, and honors innovations in production equipment, instrumentation, control systems or improved processing technologies widely used in the manufacture of rubber or rubber-like articles of importance.

Bioelastomer Award – Dr. David Dierig
Dr. David Dierig was selected for the 2024 Bioelastomer Award, currently sponsored by Rubber Division, ACS. This award honors scientists who have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding or utilization of biomaterials, including naturally derived elastomeric polymers and protein-based bioelastomers. It recognizes contributions in the field of biotechnology and biomaterials as these relate to elastomers and rubbery materials.