International Elastomer Conference opens today in Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA – This morning at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center in Pittsburgh, PA, the International Elastomer Conference returns to an in-person exposition providing valuable learning, business and networking opportunities. Opening ceremonies and the keynote address will kick off the conference at 9 AM in the Spirit of Pittsburgh Ballroom. Today also marks the 200th anniversary of Rubber Division, ACS’s Technical Meeting where our industry learns about the latest research developments and newest trends in rubber technology.

Some of the highlights of today’s events include the naming of the Goodyear Medalist. The most prestigious award given by Rubber Division, ACS, honors an individual for outstanding invention, innovation or development which resulted in significant change or contribution to the nature of the rubber industry. This year’s medalist was awarded to jointly to Dr. Timothy B. Rhyne of Michelin Americas Research Company and Dr. Steven M. Cron of Michelin Tire Company. Rhyne and Cron are joint inventors of the Michelin Tweel and Uptis airless tires.

The 2022 Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award was given to Professor Anil K. Bhowmick, a research professor at the University of Houston’s International Center for Polymers and Soft Matter within the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. The award, sponsored by Lion Elastomers, honors someone who has exhibited exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to rubber science and technology.

The 2022 George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research was presented to Professor Changwoon Nah of the Department of Polymer-Nano Science and Technology, Jeonbuk National University, Korea. The award, sponsored by Cabot Corporation, honors outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science, and recognizes innovative research, as well as outstanding contributions to the integration of chemistry and polymer science in the educational system.

The winner of the 2022 Sparks-Thomas Award is Professor Boachun Guo, head of the Department of Polymer Materials and Engineering at South China University of Technology. The award is sponsored by Endurica, LLC, and recognizes and encourages outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers.

Doctor Krishna Venkataswamy, executive vice president of Star Thermoplastics, is the winner of the 2022 Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award. The award is sponsored by Renkert Oil, LLC, and honors significant contributions to the advancement of the chemistry of thermoplastic elastomers.

Dr. Gerald R. Potts, principal of GRP Dynamics LLC, is the 2022 winner of the Fernley H. Banbury Award. Sponsored by ACE Products & Consulting, LLC, the award recognizes the contributions of scientists and engineers in developing production equipment, control systems and instrumentation widely used in the manufacture of rubber or rubber-like articles of importance.

Professor Kristi Kiick, Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Delaware, currently serving as Professor and Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, is the winner of the 2022 Bioelastomer Award. This award honors significant contributions to the advancement of biomaterials in the field of rubber science and technology. The Bioelastomer Award is supported by Versalis Americas, Inc.

For those unable to attend in-person a virtual attendee option is available that gives you live and on-demand access to all Technical Meeting presentations, the Opening Ceremony & Keynote Address and the Science & Technology Award Winner presentations. Visit for more information