Richard Smallwood to be inducted into the Tire Industry Hall of Fame

Racho Cucamonga, CA – Sumitomo Rubber North America, Inc. is pleased to announce that Richard Smallwood, former President and CEO of SRNA, will be inducted into the prestigious Tire Industry Association’s Hall of Fame. This recognition comes as a testament to Smallwood’s outstanding contributions and leadership within the tire industry.
Throughout his career, Richard Smallwood has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to developing innovative products, delivering exceptional customer service, and going above and beyond for his employees. His visionary approach and strategic initiatives have played a pivotal role in Sumitomo Rubber North America’s success and growth in the highly competitive tire market.
Under Smallwood’s leadership, the Falken Tires brand has achieved remarkable milestones, including the successful launch of groundbreaking products, expansion of manufacturing capabilities, and the establishment of strong partnerships across the industry. His dedication to advancing tire safety, sustainability, and performance has set a new benchmark for the entire industry.
“Richard Smallwood can be credited for a great deal of Sumitomo Rubber North America’s success and growth over the years,” said Darren Thomas, current President and CEO of SRNA. “Richard is a leader beloved by the entire SRNA family. We are extremely proud of his achievements and grateful for the lasting impact he has made on our organization and the tire industry as a whole.”
Smallwood is currently Chairman of SRNA, serves on the board of Sumitomo Rubber USA, and is an advisor of Sumitomo Rubber Industries, Ltd. of Japan. He has also held a position as board member of the U.S. Tire Manufacturers Association for the past eight years.
The induction ceremony for Richard Smallwood into the Tire Industry Association’s Hall of Fame will take place on Oct. 30, 2023, at Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Resort & Casino. With this esteemed honor, Smallwood joins an elite group of industry leaders who have made significant contributions to the tire industry